2021 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize: Call for Nominations

World Monuments Fund invites nominations for the 2021 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize. The Prize will be awarded to architects or preservationists who have implemented an innovative intervention that preserved and saved a threatened modern building or complex.

Nominated projects must have been completed in the last ten years and must have faced challenges or threats that affected the site before the project implementation. Threats may include deterioration of original materials, obsolescence, abandonment, or inappropriate changes in use, ownership, economic or political conditions surrounding the site.

The call for submissions opens on April 20, 2021. The deadline for submissions is June 15, 2021 at 5.00 PM EDT and the prize will be awarded in fall.

The Prize will include:

  • A cash honorarium of $10,000
  • A Knoll Barcelona chair
  • Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations for the winner to attend the award ceremony in New York City (pending Covid-19 travel restrictions).

An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner. The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University. The prize winner will be announced in fall 2021.


  • Barry Bergdoll, (Chairman), Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology, Columbia University; New York, NY
  • Courtney J. Martin, Director of the Yale Center for British Art, Yale University, New Haven, CT
  • Dietrich Neumann, Professor of the History of Modern Architecture and Director, Urban Studies, Department of the History of Art and Architecture, Brown University; Providence, RI
  • Jean-Louis Cohen, Sheldon H. Solow Professor in the History of Architecture, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; New York, NY
  • Kenneth Frampton, Ware Professor of Architecture, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University; New York, NY
  • Karen Stein, Critic, Architectural Advisor, and Executive Director of the George Nelson Foundation; New York, NY
  • Mabel O. Wilson, Nancy and George Rupp Professor of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, a Professor in African American and African Diasporic Studies, and the Director of the Institute for Research in African American Studies (IRAAS) at Columbia University; New York, NY
  • Susan Macdonald, Head, Buildings and Sites, The Getty Conservation Institute; Los Angeles, CA
  • Theo Prudon, President, Docomomo US and Adjunct Professor of Historic Preservation, Columbia University and Pratt Institute; New York, NY 

20 April to 15 June 2021
Online Event
Call for Nominations
Submission Form